Trumbull captures CONNY championship

The Trumbull U11A boys lacrosse team took home the Platinum Division title in the season-ending CONNY (CT./NY) Tournament at Yale on June 1.

In the opening game against top-seeded New Fairfield, Trumbull jumped out to an early lead behind the relentless attack of Patrick McAleavey, Shea Grant and Jack Conroy.

The Trumbull midfield, led by Chase Lilly, Luke Liebowitz, Evan Faith, Julian Kammerman and Max McGillicuddy, dominated the groundball battles and allowed Trumbull to apply relentless pressure in the offensive zone.

A stout defensive effort anchored by the play of Kyle Atherton, Hunter Fitzgibbons and Evan Seymour, and backstopped by goalie Shane Werner, helped Trumbull shut down their opponent’s high-powered offense en route to the 8-5 victory.

In the championship game against a tough squad from Madison, Trumbull played its best game of the season in a dominant 10-3 win.

James O’Brien, Josh Rubinstein, Zack Walsh, Vinny DiLeo and Stephen Valluzzo all played key roles in the offensive onslaught, while Jackson Lapham, Peter Schmitz and J.D. Griffin controlled the midfield.

The final result was never in doubt, as Dan Pitagora and Will Wright played suffocating defense allowing the Trumbull team to take the title in a fitting end to a very strong season.