Trumbull 14s gain I-84 playoff finals

The Trumbull Babe Ruth 14 summer travel baseball team advanced to the I-84 League championship game.

In its first playoff game, Trumbull defeated Danbury, 8-2, behind the pitching of Willie DeFusco, who limited the Hatters to one run after the first inning.

Will Guttman led off the bottom of the first with a double and DeFusco singled him home. David Suporn walked and both runners advanced a base on passed balls. Luke Smith’s two-run single gave Trumbull a 3-2 lead.

Sean Palucci, Thomas Krois, Michael Hesse and Guttman walked in the second to force home one run, before Dylan Gagnon’s sacrifice fly stretched the lead to 5-2.

Trumbull picked up two more in the fourth and held Danbury until the  sixth, when a walk, a single and an error plated a run.

Trumbull scored in the bottom of sixth and its defense shut Danbury down in the seventh.

In the title game, Trumbull lost to Stamford 5-1.

Palucci pitched well on the hill, but Stamford’s bat were hot and after three innings it led 5-0.

Suporn took the mound in the fourth and pitched shut out ball the rest of the way.

Trumbull scored its run in the fourth. DeFusco singled, Gagnon walked and Suborn singled to load the bases. Smith’s sacrifice hit scored Gagnon.

Trumbull finished the season with a 14-4-1 record. Team members include William DeFusco, Dylan Gagnon, Alex Gay, Will Guttman, Michael Hesse, Thomas Krois, Aidan Lathrope, Ralph Malagise, Sean Palucci, Kevin Rivera, Thomas Sica, Luke Smith, David Suporn and Rob Tatto.