St. Joseph laxmen town Sports Persons of Year

The Fairfield County Sports Commission announced its 2014 Sports Persons of the Year in each of the 15 communities the Commission directly serves on Aug. 6.

The St. Joseph High boys lacrosse team, Class S state champions, are town honorees.

The local sports honorees will be recognized at the 10th anniversary Sports Night awards dinner, Monday, Oct. 20, at the Hyatt Regency Greenwich at 6 p.m.

In addition, the Commission is establishing an annual Sports Person of the Year for Newtown as part of its recent working alliance with the Newtown Youth Academy Sports and Fitness Center.

Each year going forward Newtown will be included in the recognition of the sports persons in each community in an effort to support the town and its youth.

This year’s winner is Maura Fletcher, who led the Newtown High girls lacrosse team to 10 straight SWC titles before retiring in June.

Fletcher was named the Connecticut High School Coaches Association Coach of the Year for girls lacrosse.

In each of the 15 communities, a committee headed by a local town representative of the Commission, selected a Sports Person of the Year. Each winner was deemed to have had the most positive impact in their sports community from Aug. 2013-Aug. 2014.

The Sports Persons of the Year are:

BRIDGEPORT- Central High boys’ basketball team, Class LL state champions

DARIEN- Alex Ostberg, Darien High runner, National 5,000-meter champion

EASTON- Chris Thomas, National Men’s Masters Tri-athlete of the Year

FAIRFIELD- Christian Alvarado, Fairfield Prep runner, National 1-mile champion

GREENWICH- Austin Longi, Greenwich High football and track & field standout

MONROE-  Tatum Buckley, Masuk High softball pitcher, Gatorade State Player of Year

NEW CANAAN- Max Pacioretty, U.S. Olympic hockey player, NHL standout

*NEWTOWN-Maura Fletcher, Newtown High girls’ lacrosse, state coach of year

NORWALK- Cameron Wilson, NCAA individual golf champion

SHELTON- Division 10 Shelton Vikings cheer team, national champions

STAMFORD- Stamford Stars 12U softball team, New England champions

STRATFORD- Stratford Brakettes, undefeated national champion softball team

WESTON- Michael Carter, Weston Stadium Lights Committee/Weston Sports Commission

WESTPORT- Hannah DeBalsi, Staples High runner, National 2-mile champion

WILTON- Noah Farrell, Wilton High tennis player, 4-time Class L state champion

* new award this year

The Fairfield County Sports Commission is a 501c3 non-profit organization that is the one-stop resource for the sports community in the area, with a mission of promoting fitness and personal development through sports.

The Commission, with the exception of the executive director, is an all-volunteer group that gives financial support and its resources back to its communities, primarily focused on the 110,000 school age youngsters it can reach with its fitness awareness education programs under its Chelsea Cohen Fitness Academy.

For more information concerning tickets and sponsorship opportunities for Sports Night, visit or call 203-251-8481.