Repeat champs: St. Joseph captures another boys lacrosse title

St. Joseph boys lacrosse have repeated as Connecticut lacrosse champions. There was little doubt on Saturday at Brien McMahon High School in Norwalk, where the Cadets never trailed on their way to a second-straight Class S boys lacrosse state title.

A slow first half led to a wild third quarter — a good kind of wild for St. Joseph.
First half recap
The Cadets out-scored Weston, 5-3, in the 3rd quarter, opening up their lead to 10-4 before the final 12 minutes of the championship.

Weston was unable to keep with St. Joseph’s offense and penetrate its defense and the stellar goaltending by Mike Braddick.

The last three times these two teams met for the state boys lacrosse title, the games all ended with one-goal differences. But this year, another classic was not in the cards.

On the back of impressive goaltending by Mike Braddick and offensive power from senior Preston Ouellette and Mike Sudora, who both scored four goals. Ouellette led the charge in the first half, that ended with St. Joseph up 6-1.



Austin Drimal: 2 goals

Alex Crowell: 3 goals

St. Joseph

Preston Ouellette: 4 goals

Peter Bashar: 2 goals, 1 assist

Mike Sudora: 4 goals

Mike Brennan: 1 goal, 2 assists

Colin Powell: 1 goal, 1 assist

Patrick Battista: 1 goal

Christian Trefz: 1 goal

Chris Klabonski: 1 assist

Watch the games

All three boys lacrosse championships, held at Jack Casagrande Field in Norwalk, are being presented live by the HAN Network and the CIAC on the NFHS Network.
Click the links below for the boys lacrosse championship video stream links. Games are available hours after completion to watch as archived on-demand games:
Class M: New Canaan vs. Daniel Hand, 10:30 a.m.
Class S: St. Joseph vs. Weston, 1 p.m.
Class L Ridgefield vs. Darien, 3:30 p.m.
The girls’ championships are also available live from the CIAC. Daniel Hand and New Canaan are also meeting later in the day for the girls’ title.
Click the links below for the video stream links
Class L: Darien vs. Wilton, 10:30 p.m.
Class S: Old Saybrook vs. Granby Memorial, 12:30 p.m.
Class M: New Canaan vs. Daniel Hand, 2:30 p.m.