Girls lacrosse: FCIAC playoff matchups set

The Darien Blue Wave, New Canaan Rams and Ridgefield Tigers lead a strong field of eight teams into the FCIAC girls lacrosse tournament, as seeds were set on Tuesday night.

Below are the match-ups for the quarterfinals, which are scheduled for Friday, May 20.

Games are tentatively scheduled for 4 p.m., but check back on for times and schedule changes.

FCIAC Quarterfinals at higher seeds

No. 8 Ludlowe (9-7, 5-6) at No. 1 Darien (14-1-1, 9-0)

No. 7 Norwalk (9-6-1, 5-5-1) at No. 2 New Canaan (13-3, 9-1)

No. 6 Warde (10-4-1, 6-3-1) at No. 3 Ridgefield (14-1-1, 9-0-1)

No. 5 Wilton (8-8, 7-2) at No. 4 Greenwich (11-5, 7-3)

Note: Records shown are overall and official FCIAC games. Not all games played between league teams were part of the official league schedule.

Monday, May 23

FCIAC Semifinals at New Canaan, 5 and 7:30 p.m.

Thursday May 26

FCIAC Championship at Brien McMahon, 4 p.m.

The eight playoff teams were determined using a power point system. Teams are awarded 100 points for each official league victory, and 10 bonus points for every league win that opponent has.

While the power point system was used to determine qualifiers, it was not used to determine final seedings.

Once the top eight teams were established, the eight coaches of those teams voted on the seedings. Teams were ranked one through seven, with one best being and seven being worst. Coaches could not include their own team in their ranking.

Darien had the lowest point total and was seeded first, New Canaan was second lowest and was seeded second, and so on to Ludlowe in eighth place.