FCIAC boys lacrosse match-ups set

The unbeaten Darien Blue Wave leads a group of eight teams into what should be a wild FCIAC boys lacrosse tournament.

The playoffs get underway with the quarterfinal round on Saturday, with the top four seeds: No. 1 Darien, No. 2 Ridgefeld, No. 3 New Canaan and No. 4 Staples hosting games. The rest of the playoff field features No. 5 Greenwich, No. 6 Wilton, No. 7 Ludlowe and No. 8 St. Joseph.

The quarterfinal schedule is below. Check back on FCIAC.net for times and schedule changes.

FCIAC Quarterfinals, Saturday, May 21

No. 8 St. Joseph (8-8, 6-5) at No. 1 Darien (16-0, 11-0)

No. 5 Greenwich (9-6, 9-2) at No. 4 Staples (14-2, 9-2)

No. 6 Wilton (12-4, 8-3) at No. 3 New Canaan (13-3, 9-2)

No. 7 Ludlowe (11-5, 6-5) at No. 2 Ridgefield (13-3, 9-2)

Note: Records shown are overall and official FCIAC games. Not all games played between league teams were part of the official league schedule.

Tuesday, May 24

FCIAC Semifinals at Brien McMahon, 5 and 7:30 p.m.

Thursday May 26

FCIAC Championship at Brien McMahon, 7 p.m.

The semifinals and final be live streamed by the HAN Network and will be available at FCIAC.net, HAN.network and all of the Network’s websites.

The eight playoff teams were determined using a power point system. Teams are awarded 100 points for each official league victory, and 10 bonus points for every league win that opponent has.

While the power point system was used to determine qualifiers, it was not used to determine final seedings.

Once the top eight teams were established, the eight coaches of those teams voted on the seedings. Teams were ranked one through seven, with one best being and seven being worst. Coaches could not include their own team in their ranking.

Darien had the lowest point total and was seeded first, Ridgefield was second lowest and was seeded and second, and so on to St. Joseph in eighth place.