Cadets home, Eagles on road in FCIAC baseball

The Ludlowe Falcons received an assist from cross-town rival Warde, which defeated Ridgefield on Saturday, 10-3, eliminating Ridgefield from the playoff race and giving the Falcons the final berth in the FCIAC tournament.

Had Ridgefield won, the Tigers would have been in, while Ludlowe would have watched the tournament from the sidelines.

Saturday’s result also nailed down the No. 6 seed for Warde, which had already clinched a playoff bid on Friday.

Hosting quarterfinal games will be the top four seeds: No. 1 Staples (16-2 FCIAC), No. 2 St. Joseph (14-4), No. 3 Darien (13-5) and No. 4 New Canaan (12-6).

The rest of the field features No. 5 Trumbull (12-6), No. 6 Warde (12-6), No. 7 Ludlowe (11-7) and No. 8 Greenwich (11-7).

FCIAC Quarterfinals, Tuesday, May 27, 4 p.m.

No. 8 Greenwich (11-7) at No. 1 Staples (16-2)

No. 5 Trumbull (12-6) at No. 4 New Canaan (12-6)

No. 7 Ludlowe (11-7) at No. 2 St. Joseph (14-4)

No. 6 Warde (12-6) at No. 3 Darien (13-5)

A couple of tiebreakers were needed to sort out the standings.

New Canaan, Trumbull, and Warde all finished tied for fourth place with 12-6 league records. New Canaan defeated both those teams this season and took the No. 4 spot, while Trumbull is No. 5 based on its 17-3 win over Warde on May 15.

That also sets up a rematch between New Canaan and Trumbull, who played a dramatic game last Wednesday. In that one, the Rams rallied for seven runs in the bottom of the seventh for a 7-4 victory.

The other tiebreaker was at No. 7, where Ludlowe and Greenwich finished 11-7 in the FCIAC. Ludlowe edged Greenwich, 3-2, on May 7 and took the No. 7 seed, with Greenwich finishing at No. 8

In the regular-season games between the quarterfinal opponents, Staples defeated Greenwich 2-1 in 9 innings; St. Joseph defeated Ludlowe 4-3; Warde defeated Darien 7-5; and New Canaan defeated Trumbull 7-4.

The semifinals and final will be held at The Ballpark at Harbor Yard in Bridgeport, with the semis at 5 and 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, May 28, and the final at Noon, Saturday, May 31.