Trumbull fourth at FCIAC wrestling championship

Photo of Scott Ericson

Trumbull’s Aethan Munden and Lukas Cywik won individual titles when coach Charlie Anderson’s Eagles placed fourth at the FCIAC wrestling championship.

Danbury won five weight classes in the finals to claim its 34th league title in 35 years, and 11th tournament in a row, by the narrowest of margins: 225.5 to 221 over Warde.

Munden pinned Mark Wrobel of Ludlowe in 1:17 to earn the 195-pound title.

At 220 pounds, Cylwik pulled out a hard-fought 5-2 decision over Warde’s Nehemias Pettway.

“I noticed he was stronger than me, so I tried to tire him out and wait for him to make a mistake and capitalize on that,” Cylwik said. “It felt pretty good getting the win over a very good wrestler. This was a lot of hard work to get here.”

Joseph Sansone of St. Joseph pinned Nuh Ajdinoski of Danbury in 3:05 on their heavyweight bout.

Trumbull’s Bishar Hiba was second to Staples’ Jack Francis at 99 pounds.

Danbury’s Kai O’Dell, who was named the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler, pinned RJ Decamillo of New Canaan in 3:45 at 138.; @EricsonSports


1. Danbury 225.5; 2. Warde 221; 3. Staples 151; 4 Trumbull 140; 5. Ridgefield 139.5; 6. Norwalk 118.5; 7. McMahon 106.5 8. Ludlowe 102; 9. Greenwich 95; 10. New Canaan 70.5


99: Jack Francis, Staples MD Bisher Hiba, Trumbull, 11-2

106: Cristian Pote Danbury PIN Owen Sheiman Warde, 3:02

113: Dominic Barrella, Ridgefield DEC. Dominick Spadaro, Warde, 8-4

120: John Schneider, McMahon MD Phoenix Gardella Norwalk, 19-9

126: Dylan Sherman, Ludlowe DEC Nathan Blaha Ridgefield, 4-3

132: Nick Fatone, Norwalk PIN Jesse Defonce, Danbury, 5:16

138: Kai O’Dell, Danbury PIN RJ Decamillo New Canaan, 3:45

145: Logan Kovacs, Danbury DEC Zavier Hernandez, McMahon, 6-2

152: Lucas Coleman, Warde DEC Lucas Ferreira Ridgefield, 8-6

160: Andrey Kosygin, Ridgefield DEC Noah Fraas, Staples, 7-2

170: Will Ebert, Warde PIN Ben Vansteen, McMahon, 1:17

182: Louis Ceci, Greenwich PIN Ryan Gilchrist, Norwalk, 5:57

195: Aethan Munden, Trumbull PIN Mark Wrobel, Ludlowe, 1:17

220: Lukas Cylwik, Trumbull DEC Nehemias Pettway, Warde, 5-2

285: Joseph Sansone, St Joseph PIN Nuh Ajdinoski, Danbury, 3:05