Letter: One Book planning committee thanks presenters, sponsors

To the Editor:

This past week Trumbull Library held the last of the 22 One Book One Town programs based on the themes in the 2016 book choice, All the Light We Cannot See by Pulitzer Prize winning author, Anthony Doerr.  

Over the course of the past seven years, the concept of an entire community coming together to discuss issues and enjoy programs has gained credibility as more and more residents of all ages have participated in the wide variety of offerings.  It takes a year to plan and a host of presenters, partner organizations and sponsors to make it all come together.  
For making 2016 one of the most successful efforts to date, we’d like to give a special shout out thank you to our program presenters: Central Connecticut State University Professor Amy Pozorski; Connecticut Museum of History; Cora Martin from Guiding Eyes: Trumbull Community Television Supervising Producer, Donna Girot; Eight to the Bar Swing Band; Horizion Wings Wildlife Rehabilitation Center; Housatonic Valley Community College Professor Hamish Lutris; Author Jeffrey Williams; Mad Science of Fairfield County;  Master Gardener Margaret Barnes; Musicians Nate Barnes and Marcus Allen; Suzanne Cappiello from CT Bureau of Education and Services for the Blind; Trumbull Nature and Arts Center;  Norwalk Maritime Aquarium; St. Joseph and Trumbull High School Debate Teams; Trumbull High Culinary Arts Students; Vintage Radio & Communications Museum and Richard White.

We’d also like to recognize our program organizations: Connecticut Invents, Trumbull Ace Foundation, Trumbull Arts Commission, Trumbull Historical Society, Trumbull Nature and Arts Center, Trumbull School’s Sensitivity Day, and Yale University Debate Club

Of course, it wouldn’t be a thank you letter without addressing our funding sponsors: Fairfield County Bank; The Hampford and Donahue families; The Mallett Foundation; Newtown Savings Bank; Old Towne Restaurant; People’s United Bank and Trumbull Rotary Club.

With a special gratitude to the Trumbull Community.
John Annick, Jackie Carlino, Roy Fuchs, Donna Girot, Sue Horton, Ilene Goby, Ted Lovely, Linda Panovich Sachs, Nancy Rupp, Donna Soucy, Diane Strever and Mary Whatley

2016 One Book One Town Planning Committee