Women’s History Month Essay Contest

State Representatives Laura Devlin (R-134), David Rutigliano (R-123) and Ben McGorty (R-122) hosted their inaugural House of Representatives Women’s History Month Essay Contest at the Fairchild-Nichols Memorial Library on Saturday March 21.

In the spirit of March being Women’s History Month, sixth grade students from Trumbull schools submitted essays on the topic, “Important Women in Connecticut’s History and How Their Contributions to the State and Nation Affect Me.” Each student wrote a 300-word essay on the topic with the focus on one notable Connecticut woman, detailing her life and accomplishments and what those contributions mean to them.

During the ceremony, the winning and runners-up students read their winning essays to the audience, sharing what historic woman was important to them.

Rep. Devlin said, “I’d like to congratulate all of our winners on their accomplishments. I was so impressed with the insight and ability of our students, who presented such excellent work. The essays were inspired, thoughtful, and very well-crafted, and I thank the students for their hard work.”

“I’m extremely glad that I attended. I have to hand it to these kids and their families for making it out despite the weather. They are great representatives of the Town of Trumbull. I encourage all of them to keep up their hard work and to continue taking part in great events like these that involve their communities,” said Rep. Rutigliano.

Rep. McGorty said, "All of the entries into this contest were outstanding, and demonstrated great scholarship.  I offer my congratulations to the winners who shared with us some very interesting, informative and inspiring essays which showed how numerous important women in history have directly impacted all of our lives."

The winners were presented with an official state citation from the General Assembly in recognition of their accomplishment.

Hillcrest Middle School

Eleanor Higgins, winner, essay title: Constance Baker Motley

Mickayla Pang-Khloeum, runner-up, essay title: Kylie Simonds

Madison Middle School

Katie McLaughlin, winner, essay title: Ella Tambussi Grasso

Delaney Roth, runner-up, essay title: Alice Paul

St. Theresa School

Jillian Nunez, winner, essay title: Ella Tambussi Grasso

Giuliana deFelice, runner-up, essay title: Prudence Crandell