Scouts in (Trumbull) Government Day

Scouts in Government Day 2015.
Scouts in Government Day 2015.

Scouts in Government Day 2015 provided a special opportunity for Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts, and Cub Scouts to learn about the Town of Trumbull. On March 25, twenty-one scouts spent the afternoon on the job with Trumbull officials, employees, and volunteers, including the first selectman, police chief, animal control officer, emergency medical service, videographer, and others.

Continuing a tradition originated over forty years ago by First Selectman Clarence Heimann, the scouts wrote essays to apply for the privilege of participating in this event. Shadowing their mentors, the scouts learned about the scope and challenges of their position.

At the closing ceremony, First Selectman Timothy M. Herbst congratulated the scouts and presented a certificate and event patch to each participant.

The 2015 Scouts in Government Day participants included:

Administrative Assistant: Gia Powar-Barhpaga
Animal Control Officer: Gabriella Pavlov
Building Official: Kate Russell
EMS: Joe Granata and Carlo Tomasio
Finance: Akilah Cox
First Selectman: Katie DeRose
Golf Course Director: Abby Knapp and Cassie Lathrope
Information Technology: Nihal Wadhwa
Library Services: Alexandria Debrosky
Nature and Arts Center: Ashley Swan
Nursing: Ashley Russell
Park Superintendent: Abigail Clark
Police Chief: Anabelle Baratta and Joseph Vaitkus
Recreation Director: Grace Carrello and Katie Desa
Town Clerk: Tiffany Suporn
Videographer: Morgan Rizzo

The Scouts in Government Day Committee — Carol Jayne, Kathy Pekera, and Bill Chin — organized the annual event with the assistance of the first selectman’s office.