School will be closed for Spring vacation Monday, April 15-Friday, April 19.

Teacher appreciation week will be held May 6-10. The PTA is looking for food or monetary donations to help sponsor the teacher luncheon on Wednesday, May 8. Contact Lesley Guzzetta or Deirdre Finnegan to help or get more information.

Jump Rope for Heart is still accepting registrations. Return permission slips to Mr. C by Friday, April 12, to raise pledges for the AHA. Students will jump on Friday, May 3, from 3:15-4:30 p.m. Parent volunteers are still needed.

The DFS Variety Show will be on Friday, May 17. There are a few changes to the practice schedule: Friday, April 12, no Act 1 practice. 5th grade practice only. Pick up at 5:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 24, K-2 Act practice ONLY. Pick up at 5:30 p.m. Friday, April 26, no Act 2 practice. 5th grade practice only. Pick up at 5:30 p.m. Friday, May 10, all Acts practice at DFS. Wednesday, May 15, Dress rehearsal at THS. Attendance is mandatory at all rehearsals.

The DFS Father’s Club is hosting its first Kids Fun Run on Sunday, May 19, on the Trumbull Trail. More information coming soon.

The PTA is looking for volunteers to assist the kindergartners during lunch hours, to help in the Media Center, for food donations during Teacher Appreciation week and at Jump Rope for Heart. Visit the DFS website and click on the iVolunteers link to sign up and help.

Coming up: General PTA meeting Wednesday, April 24, at 9:30 a.m.; Plant Sale May 9 and 10.