State Reps. David Rutigliano (R-123), Laura Devlin (R-134) and Ben McGorty (R-122) joined forces with the Trumbull Memorial VFW Post #10059 in collecting worn, faded and tattered American flags during their Annual Flag-Collection Drive and participated in the VFW Flag Day ceremony retiring the old flags on June 14.

The legislators had collection boxes stationed around Trumbull for town residents to turn in their American flags for retirement. The ceremony was led by George Areson, who is the Commander of Trumbull American Legion Post 141.

The Second Continental Congress adopted the first American flag on July 14, 1777, and President Woodrow Wilson declared June 14 to be Flag Day in 1916. National Flag Day was then established by an Act of Congress in August 1949.