High school's 'We the People' team earn Northeast Award in D.C.

Trumbull High School’s We the People team won the Northeast Regional Award this weekend at 28th annual We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution National Finals in Washington D.C. The award places the team in the Top 15 schools in the country.

The twenty-two students are members of Katie Boland’s AP/ACE American Government class and are all seniors this year. Boland said Superintendent Gary Cialfi, pictured, surprised the team by coming down to the competition.

Team members are: Victoria Carter, Avery Collins, Eric Eisdorfer, Meghan Farrell, Caroline Forster, Elianna Gerb, Nicholas Grew, Zaineb Haroon, Justin Jager, Rohit Kandala, Krystyna Kryzanski, Julia Murphy, Daniel Netting, Nikhil Ramachandran, Anna Ribbens, Chiaki Santiago, Thomas Switzgable, Frederick Tamarkin, Emma Thornton, Bridget Weston, Erin Wingo, and Michael Zabin.