Trumbull pianists win top awards

Trumbull students took home top awards at the the 37th annual Renée B. Fisher Competition for Young Pianists, and performed with other top state players in the Neighborhood Music School.

Among the winners were Dalton Yu of Trumbull, who tied for first prize in the Elementary/Middle School division, and won best performance of the commissioned work for that division. Another Renee B. Fisher Competition winner from Trumbull is Sindy Yang, who tied for second prize in the High School Division.

Panel of judges for the competition included José Garcia-León, Leon Plantinga and Eva Virsik. The judges selected winners in Elementary/Middle and High School Divisions who will receive monetary prizes in addition to the opportunity to perform.

“These amazing young musicians have an outstanding level of commitment and dedication to their music,” said Michelle Zingale, NMS piano teacher and coordinator of the competition. “Neighborhood Music School is honored to facilitate this exciting event and is so proud to witness the performances of such talented and passionate students.”

A unique component of the competition is the annual Fisher Composer Awards, which commission two international composers to create works that are debuted at the competition. This year’s featured composers are Garrett Schumann, who wrote "For Piano” for the Elementary/Middle School Division, and Emily Cooley, composer of “Bell Dreams” for the High School Division.

“Contemporary music is an essential part of an aspiring young musician’s skill set and mastery of the commissioned pieces is a vital component of the Fisher Competition,” said Zingale.

The 2014 Fisher Competition marks a 37-year tradition of nurturing young pianists who live or study in Connecticut. Neighborhood Music School accepted management of the Competition in 2003. Milton B. Fisher of Westport, Conn., founded The Fisher Competition and Composer Awards as a fitting way to honor the memory of his wife Renée, a talented pianist, author and teacher who passed away in 1976.