Four Trumbull High students named finalists for National Merit Scholarships

Principal Marc Guarino announced Monday that Trumbull High School students Christina L. DeBenedetto, Dylan Michael McEniry, Nikaash R. Pasnoori, and Rachel F. Tropp have been named finalists in the 2016 competition for National Merit Scholarships.

Approximately 15,000 semifinalists advance to the finalist level. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from the group of finalists.

Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.

“Congratulations to our four finalists,” Guarino said.