8 Connecticut field hockey players named to NFHCA All-Region team

The National Field Hockey Coaches Association announced Wednesday that 136 student-athletes nationally have been named to the NFHCA High School All-Region team with eight coming from Connecticut.

According to the NFHCA press release, high schools are separated into 10 regions — Massachusetts, Mid-Atlantic, Midwest, New Jersey, New York, Northern New England, Pennsylvania, South, Southern New England, and West.

Named to the NFHCA Southern New England All-Region team are Autumn Bartush (Greens Farms Academy) Midfielder; Cameron Brower (Greenwich Academy), Midfielder; Maddie Epke (Guilford) Midfielder; Grace Gilman (New Canaan) Goalkeeper; Kennedy Jones (Moses Brown School, RI) Defender; Jess Leon (Staples) Midfielder; Abigail Martel (Barrington High School, RI) Defender; Alexandra Mega (East Greenwich High School, RI) Midfielder; Vivienne Mueller (Barrington High School, RI) Midfielder; Caroline Nemec (Sacred Heart Greenwich) Midfielder; Polly Parsons-Hills (New Canaan) Midfielder; Lily Procaccianti (Moses Brown School, RI) Forward; Olivia Toto (North Branford) Forward.

Epke recently led the Grizzlies to their third straight CIAC Class M state title, Gilman and Parsons-Hills led the Rams to the Class L state title, and Toto led the Thunderbirds to the Class S title.

Other postseason awards will be released by the NFHCA. Next up are the NFHCA High School All-American teams (release date Dec. 15), followed by the NFHCA High School National Academic Squad (expected Feb. 7) and the NFHCA High School Senior Impact Team (Feb. 25).