Area legislators host community conversation on opiate addiction


With the growing problem of opiate addiction in surrounding Fairfield County communities, State Reps. Brenda Kupchick (R-132), Laura Devlin (R-134), Dave Rutigliano (R-123), Ben McGorty (R-122), Cristin McCarthy-Vahey (D-133) with State Senators Tony Hwang (R-28) and Marilyn Moore (D-22) will be hosting ‘A Community Discussion On Connecticut’s Opiate Addiction Crisis’ Monday, Jan. 11, from 6:30-8 p.m., at Sacred Heart University – Martire Center, 5151 Park Avenue, Fairfield.

The public is invited to join the state legislative delegation, community leaders, law enforcement, mental health professionals and residents for a discussion on Connecticut’s Opiate Addiction Crisis. Come to learn, ask questions and offer solutions on the ways we can combat this growing epidemic.

The community discussion will consist of the following panel:

Commissioner Miriam Delphin-Rittmon

Trumbull First Selectman Tim Herbst

Fairfield First Selectman Mike Tetreau

Fairfield Police Chief Gary MacNamara

Trumbull Police Chief Michael Lombardo

Trumbull EMS Chief Joseph Laucell

HeroinKillCT & Connecticut Heroin Task Force co-founder Theresa Doonan

For more information contact Spencer Rubin, 860-240-8745 or